News: Added Links For Twin Commander and Facebook Pages

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: GTN 750 VNAV  (Read 1914 times)

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2018, 01:45:58 pm »
While I don't have preselect, I also only have to use one altitude alerter!

My G600 chimes at 1000 feet-- that was a setting. When I first got it, I think it was at 200 feet, but they were able to change that.

Steve binnette

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #16 on: July 26, 2018, 06:05:07 pm »
I like having two alerts.  I could always eliminate the one on the G600.

It is easy to get lazy and complacent with altitude preselect.  The extra alerts reminds me to watch it level.

KenFlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2018, 08:11:34 am »
The article said this was available in August...anyone had this done yet?  If so, anything to share about how the VNAV portion works and is displayed on the G600?

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #18 on: August 28, 2018, 01:13:14 am »
That is certainly true, but I'd rather have them than not!

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #19 on: October 11, 2018, 12:54:12 pm »
So I just got this update... I've only played with it on the ground so far, but it seems pretty good.

Unfortunately, then I had this forwarded to me by my avionics guy:

Quote

Hello everyone,
I know there has been a couple of threads on this issue, but I wanted to start a new one to consolidate this and pony up to the bar so to speak.

There has been some reports of the GTN blanking out periodically after the latest 6.50 software, we've been listening and taking data from some of these reports and have been able to verify exactly what the cause of this is. without getting way deep into the weeds on this it is a result of FIS B weather data and large amounts of weather data that the processor gets into a bad state and blanks the screen out momentarily. this does not affect any other function of the unit and it will continue to work correctly.

we are quickly working on a new patch to correct this issue and will have it released here as quickly as possible.

My apologies for this problem, please contact me with any questions on this, but I'll provide feedback as I receive it.


KenFlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2018, 08:43:16 am »
Yes, I will testify from personal experience that this does indeed happen.  It has happened to me about every other flight since updating the software.  Another problem I am having that apparently is unique to me is the Vertical Deviation indicator on the G600 is not functioning when an altitude constraint is selected on the GTN 750. Seems like every time I do updates a string of problems arise I didn't have before.  Makes you wonder.....

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2018, 01:44:20 pm »
If you turn FIS-B off, does it solve the screen blanking problem? I have XM Weather as well, so no real need for FIS-B.

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #22 on: November 01, 2018, 03:37:11 pm »
Apparently Garmin just released the fix. I'm supposed to get it installed tomorrow, since I have a trip on Saturday.

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2018, 02:27:56 pm »
I did a nice trip with my GTNs with the fix, and everything worked fine. VNAV worked quite well, although I made the mistake of using the "VNAV Direct" feature, and then had a hard time changing the angle from 1.2 degrees back to 3 degrees.

Still, it's a massive improvement, and the integration with the G600 is really nice.