News: Added Links For Twin Commander and Facebook Pages

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: GTN 750 VNAV  (Read 3213 times)

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2018, 01:45:58 pm »
While I don't have preselect, I also only have to use one altitude alerter!

My G600 chimes at 1000 feet-- that was a setting. When I first got it, I think it was at 200 feet, but they were able to change that.

Steve binnette

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #16 on: July 26, 2018, 06:05:07 pm »
I like having two alerts.  I could always eliminate the one on the G600.

It is easy to get lazy and complacent with altitude preselect.  The extra alerts reminds me to watch it level.

KenFlo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2018, 08:11:34 am »
The article said this was available in August...anyone had this done yet?  If so, anything to share about how the VNAV portion works and is displayed on the G600?

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #18 on: August 28, 2018, 01:13:14 am »
That is certainly true, but I'd rather have them than not!

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #19 on: October 11, 2018, 12:54:12 pm »
So I just got this update... I've only played with it on the ground so far, but it seems pretty good.

Unfortunately, then I had this forwarded to me by my avionics guy:

Quote

Hello everyone,
I know there has been a couple of threads on this issue, but I wanted to start a new one to consolidate this and pony up to the bar so to speak.

There has been some reports of the GTN blanking out periodically after the latest 6.50 software, we've been listening and taking data from some of these reports and have been able to verify exactly what the cause of this is. without getting way deep into the weeds on this it is a result of FIS B weather data and large amounts of weather data that the processor gets into a bad state and blanks the screen out momentarily. this does not affect any other function of the unit and it will continue to work correctly.

we are quickly working on a new patch to correct this issue and will have it released here as quickly as possible.

My apologies for this problem, please contact me with any questions on this, but I'll provide feedback as I receive it.


KenFlo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2018, 08:43:16 am »
Yes, I will testify from personal experience that this does indeed happen.  It has happened to me about every other flight since updating the software.  Another problem I am having that apparently is unique to me is the Vertical Deviation indicator on the G600 is not functioning when an altitude constraint is selected on the GTN 750. Seems like every time I do updates a string of problems arise I didn't have before.  Makes you wonder.....

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2018, 01:44:20 pm »
If you turn FIS-B off, does it solve the screen blanking problem? I have XM Weather as well, so no real need for FIS-B.

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #22 on: November 01, 2018, 03:37:11 pm »
Apparently Garmin just released the fix. I'm supposed to get it installed tomorrow, since I have a trip on Saturday.

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2018, 02:27:56 pm »
I did a nice trip with my GTNs with the fix, and everything worked fine. VNAV worked quite well, although I made the mistake of using the "VNAV Direct" feature, and then had a hard time changing the angle from 1.2 degrees back to 3 degrees.

Still, it's a massive improvement, and the integration with the G600 is really nice.

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #24 on: November 16, 2018, 11:35:22 am »
I took a few pictures to show the VNAV working on the G600 and GTN. It's pretty neat. It both gives you a glidepath indicator and puts a bug on the vertical speed to show you what descent rate you need. I don't have a GFC600, so I can't couple it, but that's probably just as well.

On the GTN, it shows you altitude constraints. One annoying thing is that with the VNAV feature, you always have a column taken up in the Flight Plan page for altitudes. I used to like to have cumulative time there, and it would be nice if I could hide the altitude column when I wasn't using the VNAV.


donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #25 on: November 16, 2018, 11:48:45 am »
This was something cool which I didn't expect. I had an LPV approach set up in the GTN, and was cleared direct to an initial fix. The VNAV started giving me vertical guidance to cross the initial fix at the proper altitude, and then, while I was descending, it showed a preview of the LPV glide path as well. You can see that in the little diamond in the upper half of the vertical path indicator.


KenFlo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #26 on: November 17, 2018, 08:31:32 am »
Don...I have the same set up.  My GTN 750 works perfectly in VNAV but for some unknown reason the G600 doesn' display any of the cues.  I have had the avionics shop look at it three times after speaking with Garmin but no success yet.  Frustrating, as it would be a nice cue to have the VNAV cue.  I am glad you like it and hopefully soon I can share in that delight!

SKYFLYER

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #27 on: November 17, 2018, 10:13:05 am »
I have heard that just uploading the latest update will cause this issue and that the unit software has to be deleted and reloaded from scratch using the newest update.

I do not have that Garmin system but the two that I know that do have it... said pretty much the same thing.

I would think that your shop should know this.  Maybe Don can inquire with his shop as to how they made his work and you can get yours up to speed as well.

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #28 on: November 17, 2018, 11:33:08 am »
Does your G600 have the latest update?

The avionics guy did the update in my hangar, and he just followed the step-by-step instructions from Garmin. Maybe he had some notes scribbled on there that I didn't see, I suppose.

donv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: GTN 750 VNAV
« Reply #29 on: November 17, 2018, 11:36:11 am »
When I did my recurrent training last January with Barry Lane, he made a comment about my G600 having the "Baro Minimums" setting that he hadn't seen before... he implied that required some additional box or connection-- does your G600 have that?