News: Added Links For Twin Commander and Facebook Pages

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: S-Tec 3100  (Read 7526 times)

Bruce Byerly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: S-Tec 3100
« Reply #15 on: January 09, 2024, 05:54:47 pm »
Weve done a bunch of these 3100s lately and they are awesome! Watching in smoothly vnav step downs while turning and controlling it via a 485 remote makes me giggle!  The 3100 is what the 2100 hoped to be but never was.

donv

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
Re: S-Tec 3100
« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2024, 09:03:59 pm »
Is this the 485 remote you are talking about?

https://sarasotaavionics.com/avionics/gcu485

Where did you locate it?

Bruce Byerly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: S-Tec 3100
« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2024, 02:40:25 am »
Is this the 485 remote you are talking about?

https://sarasotaavionics.com/avionics/gcu485

Where did you locate it?

Yes, I think they work well both in the panel high but I prefer in the short pedestal so I can play jet pilot. Picking a panel out tomorrow with customer in fact.  I was told today that Stec informed us that we have installed more 3100s than anyone.

donv

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
Re: S-Tec 3100
« Reply #18 on: February 15, 2024, 12:55:43 pm »
Funny, I like that idea as well. Mounting the controls high was a requirement of the STC, I believe. "In the line of sight" or something like that.

schrambow

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
Re: S-Tec 3100
« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2024, 04:11:58 pm »
Thinking about upgrading to the 3100 this summer at the 150 hour inspection from the Ap106.   The AP106 is working good, just wanting to spend some money on airplanes?  Just wondering what others think and if i am nuts or should think about something else or addition?
corey

donv

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
Re: S-Tec 3100
« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2024, 10:28:34 pm »
I think it was worth the money. I went from a functioning AP106, but the reality is that the AP106 is going to get harder and harder to find parts and people who know how to work on it-- and it actually needs someone who knows what they are doing.

The S-Tec is a big improvement, at least it was for me. I think the altitude capture functionality alone is a huge improvement from a safety and ease of use perspective.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2024, 10:33:42 pm by donv »

Adam Frisch

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1673
    • Adam Frisch FSF
Re: S-Tec 3100
« Reply #21 on: April 05, 2024, 10:47:21 pm »
Someone said it's even approved for the older 680 turbines, too. That's good - now there's an alternative to the expensive and already old STEC 65. Used to be the only option.
Slumming it in the turboprop world - so you don't have to.