News: Added Links For Twin Commander and Facebook Pages

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Commander 560E  (Read 17812 times)

craigcardell

Commander 560E
« on: October 19, 2015, 02:12:05 pm »
I'm a Mooney pilot who happened to have a Commander 560E fall into my lap.  Initially, I was going to sell it and move on with my life.  After being around the ole' girl for a few months I've decided to keep her and return her to her glory days.  I just started the annual inspection and working hand-in-hand with my A&P to learn all I can.  I'm hoping to pick up additional information from you guys and learn even more.  Can't wait to meet everyone!

Stephen Matusick

Re: Commander 560E
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2015, 03:19:41 pm »
She's a beauty! Great job being able to do an owner assisted annual- I'm hoping to do the same when I pick one up! Welcome to the forum!

Steve

Adam Frisch

• Administrator
    • Adam Frisch FSF
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2015, 08:19:46 pm »
Hi Craig!

Good choice. The 560E is a great performer with great range. It's going to takeoff really short and climb well. They're big pussycats. Stall speed on my 520 was like 40kts, I'm not even joking. A great bush plane that can also be a long range traveller.

What does it need done?
Slumming it in the turboprop world - so you don't have to.

craigcardell

« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2015, 08:40:44 pm »
It's flyable now.  Sat for several years and fired right up.  We flew it from previous airport to it's new home at 4A7 (Tara Field) with no issues.  After I put some time on her I'm sure things will show up that needs repair or attention.  Everything on my "to-do" list for now is tidying her up such as new windows, new interior, new paint and modern avionics.  The aircraft has a few good mods already such as pilots door, winglets and flap gap seals.  I think it's going to a great candidate for restoration.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2015, 08:43:59 pm by craigcardell »

Adam Frisch

• Administrator